Mini Aunty’s Hara-Bhara Khurma

Everyone will have their own signature dish and recipe. Likewise, today I had this most delicious Khurma rice at my present PG aunty’s (Mini aunty). Whenever and wherever (Yes.. I did sing a bit of Shakira’s song while typing this!) I taste something new, spicier and that makes me Food-gasmic, I immediately make a note of their recipe and blog it! So, here is one of the healthy dish where most of it just requires boiling and no frying at all.  This you can make with variety of ingredients as per your wish (ex- Channa dhal, Bengal Gram Dhal, Black Peas, Butter Beans, Capsicum, Tapioca etc). I’m just giving you a plain idea of how this goes
So all you need is
Vegetables like Carrot, Cauliflower, Potatoes
Green Peas- ½ cup
Garlic- 1 pod
Fresh Coconut- ½
Poppy Seeds- 1 Tablespoon
Green Chillies- 6 to 8 pieces
Fresh Corriander leaf- 1 Bunch
Fresh Mint Leaf- A handful
Fennel- 1 teaspoon
Cinnamon stick – 1
Avarrakkai/ Broad Beans – ½ cup
(Turmeric Powder, chilli powder and salt- to taste)
1) Boil all the vegetables (Carrot, cauliflower, peas, potatoes) including the broad beans with salt ,turmeric powder and chilli powder.
2) Grind all the other ingredients. (Add some water, when required)
3) Mix it with the boiled vegetables and again boil for another 5 to 10 minutes.

Leave a comment