GUNPOWDER ALOO/POTATO/URULAI KILANGU FRIES

My Mid-Night Snack

Living in Pune for almost two and a half years has almost transformed me to be independent and survive during severe crisis. I wish and would love every women to be independent no matter what. That amazing feeling when you learn to cook, clean every shit ( I mean this. You clean your rice kept in the cooker three weeks back! Cleaning the burnt cooker and the vessels) Meeting new people and learning their language, culture and their food. A reminder to remember things,because Amma is not with you. Making time to do some chores, exploring places and the food with the best people and most importantly studying a bit. Thesis or my dissertation time was the most difficult phase I went through. I was mentally stressed and I was terribly home sick. That’s when I learned the theory of instincts of survival- Motivation, Self-Interest, Responsibilities, and more reasons to love myself for what I am. One of my most favourite quotes,” If not now, then when?!” always motivated me to less procrastinate and have no regrets.

There was a time where I ran short of money and I couldn’t tell my parents, because I felt guilty of spending a lot (Maybe “a lot” is an understatement. Come on! I eat a lot and watch movies every week :P. like DUH!) Happens ya! Luckily I had this Piggy-Bank-for-the-rescue, that saved me from starving and almost to death (Okay, that’s too much!). I bought the cheapest vegetables within 20/- bucks and decided to make the World’s best Aloo fries/ Potato Fries.(BTW, it was 10:30 PM) So, I come home and realise that there was no Garam Masala Powder nor the Chilli Powder, and I was like “WOW! No wonder I am going to make the World’s best Aloo Fries!”. After a lot of contemplation, I look at the top most of the shelf, just to realise my Amma is always with me wherever I go :). I found this Zip-loc pouch of Gunpowder sent all the way from Chennai. She be my Angel.

Gunpowder Aloo fries was the perfect idea at that moment. Usually, potatoes are meant to be boiled with water before properly being cooked. There you go! Yet another problem, I was running short of water. :|. So, here’s my worst experience that turned out to be thee best one. 🙂

All you need to know is :

1) Keep praising your Mother, no matter what, she’s the best!
2) Be happy with what you have
3) Spend money meticulously
4) Who said you’re not the best cook? Just Shut up and cook. Only you can save yourself.
5) Be Pro-Active
6)Always keep a track on time, money, the things you require for survival
7) You’re awesome! You actually read every nonsensical things I shared. Lol.

To prepare the best Gunpowder potatoes fries, all you need is:-

  • ME B| ( Hahahahahahaha. Jk!)
  • Two spoons of oil (Any oil! If you are very particular about the taste, go for the olive oil/ Ground nut oil)
  • Three Big Potatoes (Yeah, I eat a lot and sizes do matter to me. Problem? :P. It’s totally your wish. Quantity given here is just for a sample. These potatoes were diced into cute-cubes)
  •  Two Onions (Cut in Julienne form! :D)
  •  Two Pods of Garlic (Neatly chopped. OMG! That smell though!!!)
  • 12 g of Gun Powder (2 tbsp. measurement. 1 tbsp. approx. being 6g)
  1. Pour little oil of your choice in the pan and fry the potatoes sautéed along with the garlic and onions till they are soft enough to be palatable and easily digestible. (Time consuming, yes! But, you want the best Gunpowder potato fries right?).
  2. Add a pinch of salt, not more because gunpowder is a mixture of chilli powder, salt, a bit of coconut powder and others. So, even if you miss adding some salt, not a problem!
  3. To check if the potatoes are cooked/fried properly, cut one small cube with the ladle.
  4. Add the main hero of the ingredient i.e. the Gunpowder (Mulagai Podi in Tamil). Out of excitement don’t add the whole amount, lumps will form and it will not be easily mixed along with the potatoes and then you will regret. You need patience! So, add little by little, making sure each cube has a spread of this powder and the flavour.
  5. After frying, set the gas on lowest simmer and cover the pan with a plate till the whole mixture boils. Easy way to find this is when you notice tiny droplets on the plate.
  6. Remove the plate after 8-10 minutes and indulge yourself in true feeling of food-gasm.

I usually eat this watching my favourite Game of Thrones series or The Modern Family. What about you?

Of course, this is the most simplest and the easiest recipe. 🙂 But, there’s this invisible ingredient called LOVE in every recipe I share and this was the most special one. ❤ Au Revoir!!

Leave a comment