Aloo Tikki

Aloo Tikki, also known as Hash Potatoes in English, is a 4 PM snack made from boiled potatoes and fried deep. The shelf life, when stored in the chiller, is not more than 24 hours. To be consumed after it is heated thoroughly after taking it out from the chiller. Aloo Tikki’s crispy when eaten hot. Other ingredients like peas, corn, cabbage can also be added along.

When I had been to Ambala and Delhi, my only staple dish over there was Aloo Tikki. I never got tired of eating every time I saw someone selling them. All because I assumed that I may never get to eat the similar in Chennai. But I’m wrong. Two days back, my mom had prepared this for the evening snack, and I feel it’s okay to brag that this is one of the best that I have ever had. How do I miss sharing this recipe in my blog? So, here it goes. 

Preparation time:-45 minutes

Ingredients required:- 

Potatoes – 4 big sized

Peas- 10g

Salt to taste

Chilli Powder 2g

Chaat Powder/Masala 3g

Garlic 2 pods (Optional)

Coriander powder 2g

Corn Flour 10g

Mint 2 strands

Oil – If for frying then atleast 25 ml , if not just 1-2tsp

  1. Boil the Potatoes.
  2. Add the ingredients mentioned above to the boiled potatoes and mash them well.  If you’re using peas, ensure that they are boiled well before you add them.
  3. Ensure that the water doesn’t ooze out and keep mix-mashing them all well. 
  4. Make small balls of these mashed ingredients. 
  5. Meanwhile, heat a flat pan with some oil. 
  6. Once the pan is thoroughly heated, flatten the balls to whichever shape you would like and keep tossing them till they are completely roasted. Indication:- Golden brown color. (Comparatively a healthier option)
  7. If okay with deep frying, instead of a flat pan, in a frying pan, add some oil and let them heat well.  
  8. Flatten these balls and put them in the frying pan, allow it to fry well, and turn into golden brown- crispier. 
  9. Serve with mint or coriander chutney. It is also best accompanied with hot and spicy Tomato sauce. 

Leave a comment